18 Chhattisgarh cops awarded police medals on eve of Republic Day

NewsDrum Desk
26 Jan 2023

Raipur, Jan 25 (PTI) As many as 18 personnel and officers of the Chhattisgarh Police, including Additional Director General Vivekananda Sinha who heads anti-Naxalite operations, were selected for prestigious police medals on the eve of 74th Republic Day on Wednesday, said an officer.

Of these 18 personnel, 10 were awarded the 'Police Medal for Meritorious Service', seven with 'Police Medal for Gallantry' and one with the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Services, said the officer.

Additional Director General of Police (Naxal operation, SIB, CAF, STF) Sinha has been awarded the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Services, the officer said.

The Police Medal for Gallantry was awarded to Durg Superintendent of Police (SP) Abhishek Pallava.

IPS officer Pallava, who had a long stint in the insurgency-hit Dantewada district, had introduced the 'Lon Varratu' (return to your village) campaign in June 2020 to motivate Maoists to join the national mainstream.

Since the launch of the campaign, as many as 578 Naxalites, among them 145 carrying cash rewards on their heads, have surrendered in Dantewada district, according to officials. PTI COR RSY RSY

Read The Next Article