Assembly bypolls: Himachal records 32.7 percent turnout in first four hours

NewsDrum Desk
Updated On
New Update
Himachal Pradesh Voting Himachal Pradesh Elections

Representative image

Shimla: A voter turnout of 32.7 per cent was recorded till 11 am on Wednesday in the bypolls in three assembly segments of Himachal Pradesh.

While Dehra assembly constituency recorded a turnout of 31.61 percent, Hamirpur saw 31.81 percent and Nalagarh 34.63 percent.

The three seats fell vacant after the three independent legislators Hoshiyar Singh (Dehra), Ashish Sharma (Hamirpur) and K L Thakur (Nalagarh), who had voted in favour of the BJP in the Rajya Sabha polls held on February 27, resigned from the House on March 22.

They joined the BJP the next day but their resignations were accepted by the Speaker on June 3. Their seats were declared vacant, necessitating the bypolls.

The BJP has fielded all the three independent MLA from their respective seats. The Congress has fielded Kamlesh Thakur, wife of the chief minister from Dehra, repeated its candidate Pushpinder Verma from Hamirpur and gave ticket to five-time Indian National Trade Union Congress president of the Himachal unit, Hardeep Singh Baba, from Nalagarh.

BJP candidates Singh and Thakur and Congress candidate Bawa and Verma were among the early voters.

Talking to PTI, Singh said it is a fight between the "corrupt" Congress government in the state and innocent and honest people of Dehar.

Claiming that police in plain clothes have been following him for the past few days and his supporters have been indirectly threatened, he alleged that the Congress government is misusing official machinery.

Thirteen candidates are in the fray and the results will be declared on July 13.