Badrinath by-poll: 17 polling parties leave for remote polling stations

NewsDrum Desk
New Update

Gopeshwar, Jul 8 (PTI) Seventeen polling parties left on Monday for remotely located polling stations of the Badrinath assembly constituency where a by-poll is scheduled to be held on July 10.

General Observer Anita Ramachandran, District Election Officer Himanshu Khurana, Additional District Election Officer Abhinav Shah, Deputy District Election Officer Vivek Prakash, Assistant Returning Officer RK Pandey and other nodal officers were present as the 17 polling parties equipped with VVPATs and EVMs and other polling material left for their respective destinations, officials said. They added 193 more polling parties will be despatched to their destinations on Tuesday.

A total of 210 polling stations have been set up for the by-poll.

The remotely located polling stations include Molta, Jakhola, Kimana, Dumak, Kalgoth, Niti, Gamshali, Kailashpur, Jelam, Kosha, Jumma, Dronagiri, Malari, Irani, Jhinjhi, Gauna and Pana, the officials said.

With improvement in the weather in Chamoli on Monday, the process to reopen blocked roads in the district has gathered pace, they said.

With many roads in the district still blocked by landslide debris, conducting the by-poll could be challenging. PTI COR ALM ALM MNK MNK