Bengal: Over 47 pc voting in three LS seats till 1 pm

NewsDrum Desk
New Update

Kolkata, Apr 26 (PTI) Three Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal recorded over 47 per cent voting till 1 pm in the second phase of polling on Friday, an Election Commission official said.

Polling is underway in Darjeeling, Balurghat and Raiganj constituencies, and voting will continue till 6 pm.

Darjeeling recorded the highest voter turnout of 49.09 per cent, while Raiganj and Balurghat registered 47.56 per cent and 44.93 per cent polling, respectively, he said.

"Polling is peaceful and there is no report of any untoward incident from anywhere in the parliamentary constituencies," the official said.

A total of 47 candidates, including state BJP president Sukanta Majumdar, are in the fray in this phase, with 51.17 lakh people eligible to exercise their franchise.

Altogether 5,298 polling stations have been set up across the three constituencies. There are 1,999 polling stations in Darjeeling, 1,730 in Raiganj and 1,569 in Balurghat, he said.

A total of 272 companies or 27,200 personnel of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs), alongside 12,983 state police personnel have been deployed for the polls, the official added. PTI SCH RBT