JNU notifies election committee for students' union polls

NewsDrum Desk
Updated On
New Update

Representative image

New Delhi: The Jawaharlal Nehru University has notified the election committee for the students' union polls after a hiatus of four years.


The last JNUSU elections were held in 2019 and had been stalled since COVID-19 pandemic.

The Executive Committee members have elected Shailendra Kumar as the chairperson of the election committee for presiding over the JNUSU elections 2023-24, the notification said.

Dean of Students Manuradha Chaudhary released a list of 42 students, including the chairperson, who will form the election committee and help in counting of votes as well as declaration of the poll results.


"In reference to the circular dated 16.02.2024 wherein Ms Aishe Ghosh and Mr Md Danish were authorised to conduct GBM of the students for formation of the election committee to initiate the JNUSU elections 2023-24 process. In this regard, the following list of EC members along with chairperson election committee has been submitted. The dean of students hereby notifies the same," the notification dated March 6 read.

The preparations for polls will now be kickstarted, and further ratcheted up after the dean office announces the dates for holding the JNUSU elections.

In the 2019 polls, the united front of Left student organisations SFI, AISA, AISF and DSF swept the JNU Students' Union (JNUSU) polls, with Aishe Ghosh elected as president, defeating arch-rival RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad.