Patnaik dissolves all state-level office bearers of BJD, appoints new spokespersons

NewsDrum Desk
New Update

Bhubaneswar, Jul 8 (PTI) Biju Janata Dal president Naveen Patnaik has dissolved all state-level office bearers of the party and formed a fresh panel of spokespersons, following the BJD's dismal show in the recently concluded Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in Odisha.

However, the district-level BJD officer bearers will continue to hold their offices, the former Odisha chief minister said.

In an order, Patnaik on Sunday said, "All state-level office bearers of the BJD are hereby dissolved with immediate effect. The new state-level office bearers will be appointed soon." Patnaik has appointed Santrupt Mishra, Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo, Amar Patnaik, Sasmit Patra and Pradeep Kumar Majhi as party's national spokespersons.

Newly inducted senior BJD leader Santrupt Mishra has also been appointed as political secretary to party president Naveen Patnaik.

The BJD has also appointed 14 leaders as its state spokespersons.

Senior leader Pratap Jena has been appointed as state media coordinator while Swayam Prakash Mohapatra is the social media coordinator. Party leaders Lelin Mohanty and Priyabrata Majhi have been appointed as media coordinators.

In the 2024 state Assembly elections, the BJD, which ruled the state for 24 years, won 51 seats in the 147-member Odisha Assembly and failed to win a single Lok Sabha seat in the state. PTI BBM RG