PM names 21 Andaman and Nicobar Islands after gallantry award winners

NewsDrum Desk
23 Jan 2023
PM names 21 Andaman and Nicobar Islands after gallantry award winners

Prime Minister Narendra Modi virtually addresses during a ceremony to name 21 uninhabited islands of Andaman and Nicobar Islands after Param Vir Chakra (PVC) recipients and unveil a model of a proposed memorial dedicated to Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose

Port Blair: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday named 21 islands in the Andaman and Nicobar archipelago after Param Vir Chakra awardees.

On the occasion of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s 126th birth anniversary, the Prime Minister virtually announced the names of the islands dedicated to the gallantry award winners.

Following is the list of the islands:

Dhan Singh Island after Lieutenant Colonel (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa

Tarapore Island after Lt Col Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore

Karam Singh Island after Lance Naik (Hony. Captain) Karam Singh

Bana Island after Naib Subedar Bana Singh

Ekka Island after Lance Naik Albert Ekka

Khetrapal Island after 2nd Lt Arun Khetrapal

Pandey Island after Lt Manoj Kumar Pandey

Hoshiar Island after Major Hoshiar Singh

Shaitan Island after Major Shaitan Singh

Jadunath Island after Nayak Jadunath Singh

Yogender Island after Subedar Major (Hony. Captain) Yogendra Singh Yadav

Hamid Island after Company Quartermaster Havildar (CQMH) Abdul Hamid

Rane Island after 2nd Lt Rama Raghoba Rane

Ramaswamy Island after Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran

Batra Island after Captain Vikram Batra

Joginder Island after Subedar Joginder Singh

Salaria Island after Captain G S Salaria (then Major)

Piru Island after Company Havildar Major Piru Singh

Somnath Island after Major Somnath Sharma

Sekhon Island after Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon

Sanjay Island after Subedar Major (then RifleMan) Sanjay Kumar.

Read The Next Article