Saran to become my 'karmbhoomi': Lalu's daughter Rohini after launching poll campaign

NewsDrum Desk
Updated On
New Update
Rohini Acharya Saran

Saran/Patna: RJD chief Lalu Prasad's daughter Rohini Acharya on Tuesday began her campaign for the Lok Sabha polls in Bihar and asserted that Saran constituency from where she is contesting on a party ticket would soon become her "karmbhoomi".


Acharya, who donated a kidney to her father, arrived at Pahleza Ghat in Sonepur and was greeted by a large number of party supporters.

"I am overwhelmed with love and blessings I am receiving from the people of Saran ... .the way electors here are treating me is unbelievable. It’s like a daughter has come to her home. I feel blessed…. This (Saran) has been the ‘karmbhoomi’ of my father and now it is going to be mine," she said.

Saran will go to polls in the fifth phase on May 20.


Before leaving for Saran, Singapore-based Acharya, earlier in the day, told reporters in Patna, "I took blessings of Baba Harihanath yesterday. Now, I am going to meet my electors in Saran. You (media persons) should also bless me”.

Commenting on the RJD’s decision to field Acharya from Saran, Bihar BJP president and Deputy Chief Minister Samrat Chaudhary said this is an example of "dynastic politics".

“RJD supremo Lalu Prasad wants her family members in the electoral politics…this is called ‘dynastic politics’. He (Lalu) has so far brought his two sons and daughters into politics…now, let’s see when his other five daughters are brought into the politics." Another Deputy Chief Minister Vijay Sinha took a jibe at Acharya, saying that "she now lives in Singapore and is now contesting elections from Saran. The people will decide whom to go with -the one who is committed to Bihar (BJP nominee Rajiv Pratap Rudy from Saran) or the one who is from Singapore".


The BJP had on March 24 come out with a list of candidates for 17 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, dropping three sitting MPs, including Union Minister Ashwani Kumar Choubey.

The 'Mahagathbandhan' alliance in Bihar announced its seat-sharing arrangement last week, with the RJD to contest 26 constituencies. The Congress will field its candidates in nine, while the Left parties have been allotted five seats.

Lok Sabha elections to the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar will be held in seven phases between April 19 and June 1.