Shah, Shivraj, Scindia, Paatil: New ministers among top 10 with highest victory margins

NewsDrum Desk
New Update

New Delhi, Jun 4 (PTI) Amit Shah, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Jyotiraditya Scincida, and C R Paatil are among the newly inducted Cabinet Ministers who figured in the list of top 10 leaders who won the Lok Sabha polls with a considerable margin.

Former Madhya Pradesh CM and six-time Vidisha MP Chouhan won from his constituency by a margin of 8.21 lakh votes.

Shah, who was the home minister in Modi 2.0 won from Gandhinagar by a margin of more than 7.44 lakh votes.

Scindia, who was the aviation minister in the previous Modi government, won from Guna in Madhya Pradesh by more than 5.40 lakh votes.

BJP's C R Paatil recorded a victory margin of 7.73 lakh from Navsari in Gujarat.

The previous record for the highest winning margin was held by Pritam Munde, also from the BJP, who won a bypoll in October 2014 from Beed in Maharashtra by more than 6.96 lakh votes.

Paatil, a three-term MP from Navsari, held the record for the second-highest victory margin of 6.89 lakh votes in 2019. He broke his own record in the 2024 polls.

Narendra Modi was sworn in as prime minister at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here on Sunday, becoming only the second PM after Jawaharlal Nehru to secure a third consecutive term.

Along with Modi, who took oath in the name of God, senior BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman and S Jaishankar were sworn in as cabinet ministers, indicating the Prime Minister's emphasis on continuity and experience as they also held senior positions in his second term.

Among others who figured in the list of top 10 candidates who trounced their opponents were Indore MP Shankar Lalwani of the BJP. He won by a margin of 11.72 lakh votes.

Congress' Rakibul Hussain scored the second-highest victory margin of 10.12 lakh votes from Dhubri in Assam.

Among other candidates who won by a margin of more than 5 lakh votes were BJP's Gujarat candidates Rajpalsingh Jadav from Panchmahal (5.09 lakh) and Hemang Joshi from Vadodara (5.82 lakh), its Bhopal nominee Alok Sharma (5.01 lakh) and Sudheer Gupta from Mandsour (over 5 lakh).

BJP's Mahesh Sharma won from Uttar Pradesh's Gautam Buddha Nagar by a margin of 5.59 lakh votes while the saffron party's candidate from Raipur in Chhattisgarh Brijmohan Agarwal secured a victory margin of 5.75 lakh votes.

Former Tripura chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb of the BJP won from Tripura West by a margin of more than 6 lakh votes while Kriti Dev Debbarman of the saffron party won the Tripura East constituency by more than 4.86 lakh votes. PTI GJS RHL RHL