Advani, Causier storm into last 16

NewsDrum Desk
New Update

Mumbai, Mar 29 (PTI) World champion Pankaj Advani of India and David Causier of England recorded their third successive wins and stormed into the pre-quarterfinals of the All India CCI Billiards Classic 2024 here on Friday.


The Bengaluru-based Advani staved off a spirited challenge from Mumbai's talented cueist Raayan Razmi to pull off a 603-418 victory in a Group A match at the CCI's Wilson Jones billiards hall.

Advani started with a run of 235 and later compiled a break of 90 to secure the win, while Raayan made a 93 and followed it with a neat 124 to stay in the fight. Raayan with two wins also advanced to the pre-quarters.

The Englishman Causier, winner of multiple world titles, was on a roll and constructed substantial breaks of 203, 124, 160, 152, 162, 93 and 70 to tame Maharashtra number one Mahesh Jagdale by a massive 1168-418 margin in a Group C match.


Causier joined Advani and Raayan in the knockouts.

Earlier, world championship runner-up Sourav Kothari regained his winning touch as he outshone seasoned pro Alok Kumar by scripting a convincing 889-200 point victory in a Group F match.

The Kolkata-based Kothari and Mumbai cueist Rohan Jambusaria qualified for the pre-quarterfinals from this group.


Meanwhile, former CCI billiards champion Siddharth Parikh and seasoned Arun Agrawal won their respective final-round matches in Group H and also progressed to the knockout round. Siddharth with three successive wins topped the group.

Parikh with steady breaks of 183, 71, 96 and 72 outplayed England's Chris Taylor by posting a fluent 671-254 win.

On an adjacent table, Mumbai's veteran player Agrawal played fluently to tame CCI cueist Kanishk Jhanjharia 702-280. Agrawal produced breaks of 157, 61, 95 and 79.


Results: Group A: Pankaj Advani beat Raayan Razmi 603-418.

Group C: David Causier beat Mahesh Jagdale 1168-335.

Group E: Kamal Chawla beat Rishabh Thakkar 503-267; Dhruv Sitwala beat Shahyan Razmi 817-196.

Group F: Sourav Kothari beat Alok Kumar 889-200.

Group H: Siddharth Parikh beat Chris Taylor 671-254; Arun Agrawal beat Kanishk Jhanjharia 702-280. PTI AH AM AH AM AM